It’s a “HIIT:” Interval Training

Ask me how I am, and there’s a good chance my answer will include busy. With family, friends, school, work, and exciting projects and adventures, there is so much going on to keep us busy; sometimes it’s hard to even find a second to breathe, let alone, work out! But exercise is such an important part of our lives and we need to make time for it! I think a lot of people are under the impression that a workout has to be long in order to be beneficial. However, this is not always true, especially in the case of high-intensity interval training.

High-intensity interval training (also known as HIIT) is perfect for those of us who can only find 20-30 minutes a day to workout. These workouts are short, efficient, and yield amazing results. To learn more about the many benefits of HIIT, check out my article on According to Candace Ray!

I’ve been doing HIIT for most of my cardio workouts lately, and have come up with a couple of routines (listed below) that really make me break a sweat! I use the  Interval Timer app to program the routines into my phone before I “HIIT” the ground running 😉

Routine #1:

Warm-Up: Jog for 3 minutes

Interval Cycle: (3 sets)

  • Jog for 1 minute & 30 seconds
  • Sprint for 30 seconds

Recover: Jog for 2 minutes

Interval Cycle: (2 sets)

Cool-Down: Jog for 3 minutes

Routine #2:

Warm-Up: Jog for 4 minutes

Quick Interval:

  • Jog for 30 seconds
  • Sprint for 30 seconds

Recover: Jog for 2 minutes

Pyramid Cycle:

  • Jog for 30 seconds, Sprint for 30 seconds
  • Jog for 1 minute, Sprint for 1 minute
  • Jog for 2 minutes, Run as fast as you can! for 2 minutes
  • Jog for 1 minute, Sprint for 1 minute
  • Jog for 30 seconds, Sprint for 30 seconds

Recover: Jog for 4 minutes

Quick Interval:

  • Jog for 30 seconds
  • Sprint for 30 seconds

Cool-Down: Jog for 2 minutes

large

Photo Cred: weheartit.com

I’d love to try out your favorite HIIT routines! Share them in the comment section below!

4 thoughts on “It’s a “HIIT:” Interval Training

  1. Interval training is, no doubt, highly effective! I think I am in good shape (as I regularly do cardio and strength training), but the peak of the Pyramid Cycle–sprinting for 2 minutes–looks like a major challenge. How do you get to that point? Also, where do you do this kind of training? street? park? track?

    Like

    • “Sprinting,” in this case, just means running as fast as you can for 2 minutes. Obviously, your 2 minute “sprint” will be slower than your 30 second “sprint,” but the idea is just to push yourself as hard as you can during these high intensity intervals. I usually do this training on sidewalks because of my location and it works fine! A park or track would also be a great location for these workouts! Keep up your great fitness routines! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: 5 Secrets of a Healthy Lifestyle | The Pace

  3. Pingback: 6 Beauty Tips to Beat Jet Lag | The Beauty Mag

Leave a Reply

