A New Kind of Pasta Night

Okay, so I might have bent the truth just a little bit when I told you taco night was my favorite as a child. Tacos were definitely a close second, but the best of all nights in the Murray household was always pasta night. My mom made pasta a couple times a week, and every time my brother and I smelled those noodles in boiling water, you would have thought it was Christmas.

As Iโ€™ve grown, I have learned that eating two huge plates of pasta twice a week is probably not the best decision for my nutrition and health. However, recently I was introduced to a new kind of pasta that brought me right back to chowing down on big plates of my favorite food. Enter…Black Bean Pasta. The only ingredients in this pasta are organic black beans and water! It is cooked just like traditional pasta and tastes delicious with all of your favorite sauces!

I have made this pasta several times for dinner and each time, have topped it off with a different sauce. So far, my favorite has been this tomato bruschetta sauce. No matter what you top it with, black bean pasta is a fantastic, healthy alternative to traditional pasta. My inner-child rejoicesโ€ฆpasta nights are back!!

 

Black Bean Pasta with Bruschetta Sauce

INGREDIENTS:

For Bruschetta Sauce:

3 Roma Tomatoes, chopped

ยฝ tsp. Minced Garlic

6-7 Fresh Basil Leaves, chopped

1/3 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Pepper

 

Black Bean Pasta

 

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine all bruschetta ingredients, stir, and cover. Let sit for at least an hour (I had to leave my apartment and run errands or else I would have eaten it too soon!)
  2. Bring water to a boil and add as much pasta as desired. Cook for about 8 minutes and drain in cold water.
  3. Top pasta off with bruschetta sauce and enjoy!

IMG_5113 IMG_5114 IMG_5115 IMG_5116

What does pasta night look like in your home?

 

 

One thought on “A New Kind of Pasta Night

  1. Pasta night is indeed special. I tried the black bean pasta and was surprisingly pleased! The consistency is different from traditional pasta, but that is because . . . well, uh . . . it’s a different pasta! Thanks for the new idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

