Forever 21

I celebrated my 21st birthday yesterday. I have been excited for October 13, 2014 for a long time (I started a countdown on my phone once I hit the 6 month mark). I love that I no longer have limitations about where I can go and what I can do; I feel so free! My 21st fell over my fall break from school, so I celebrated in the Pittsburgh area with my family. It was a day of great food, awesome drinks, and wonderful time spent with some of my favorite people.

 

LUNCH: ATRIA’S (Peters Township)

IMG_5654IMG_5683 IMG_5655 IMG_5676 IMG_5684IMG_5657

My lovely and super fun Aunt Terri took me out for lunch and drinks at Atria’s. Atria’s is really cute and our waitress was super sweet. My aunt convinced me to try a Lemon Drop as my first drink and as always, her good taste proved to be true! We shared an order of the Rhode Island Calamari and for lunch, I had Baja Fish Tacos. We had a great time catching up about all that has been going on lately in our lives over martinis, great food, and a delicious brownie sundae.

 

HAPPY HOUR PART 1: TONIC

IMG_5679 IMG_5687IMG_5686The celebration continues! That evening, my parents and I drove into Pittsburgh’s Cultural District to go to a couple of bars together. Our first stop was Tonic Bar & Grill on Liberty Ave. My mom and I both ordered Tonic Tonic’s and totally fell in love with them. Tonic has a really great, inviting atmosphere and some awesome deals for Happy Hour! I definitely recommend Tonic, and I plan to make another appearance there soon!

 

HAPPY HOUR PART 2: TEN PENNY

IMG_5681IMG_5680

Next, we walked around the corner to Ten Penny on Penn Ave. Here, I ordered the Peach Moscato Sangria, my dad went with a Penn Brewery Pilsner, and my mom decided to be adventurous and ordered a “Dirty Pickle.” Ten Penny was much bigger and had a darker atmosphere than Tonic, but we had fun experiences at both bars! The bartenders were great, the food was delicious, and of course, the drinks were amazing.

 

I had a wonderful 21st birthday, and I’m so thankful for all the love I received from my family and friends. I have had a very blessed and happy 21 years, and I am looking forward to all this year will bring!

Leave a Reply

