Welcome to Rome!

Ciao! Well, I am finally here…in Rome! Despite Winter Storm Juno’s threats of delaying my flight, I made it to Italy all in one piece, without any lost luggage, and on time! These first several days have been filled with so much that I can hardly believe it hasn’t even been a week yet! I’ve had my first tastes of real Italian food, got my first glimpse of the Coliseum (after spending an hour and a half getting totally lost), and had about five freak outs over how cheap, fresh, and delicious fruits and vegetables are from the open-air produce markets that are found on what seems like every corner. These experiences have been made even better with the company of the other students on this program. It’s only been a few days, but already I feel close to my new friends on this trip.

My apartment is located in Garbatella, which is south of the center of Rome and about a twenty-minute walk away. My five roommates and I (along with everyone else on the program) live among local Italian people, which really helps us in our goal to immerse ourselves as much as we can into the new culture around us.

I thought the “Ah! I’m actually living in Rome” moment would happen when I was eating my first plate of pasta or taking my first steps on the cobblestones of the city, but the moment happened when I didn’t even expect it. On Friday, a group of us were on the hunt for gelato when we ‘stumbled’ upon the Basilica di San Paolo. We walked inside, hoping to catch a quick glimpse of it, but we had no idea what we were in for. The basilica was breath taking and stunning. As I walked around, finding more and more to look at around every corner, I finally felt it…I am in Rome—A place of history, culture, and beauty. I am so excited about where the rest of the journey will take me.

Check out some photos from my first several days in Rome and follow me on Instagram for even more!

 

Italian Pasta | The Pace

First meal in Rome!!

Coliseum | The Pace

The Coliseum

The Roommates | The Pace

My lovely roommates on our first night out in Rome!

Gelato | The Pace

The first of many cups of gelato…Nutella flavored 🙂

Basilica di San Paolo | The Pace

Basilica di San Paolo (these photos do not do this justice!)

Basilica di San Paolo | The Pace

Basilica di San Paolo (the photos do not do this justice!)

Basilica di San Paolo | The Pace

Basilica di San Paolo (the photos do not do this justice!)

Basilica di San Paolo | The Pace

Basilica di San Paolo (the photos do not do this justice!)

 Until next time! xo,

Tatum

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Rome!

  1. Glad you have made it to Rome! The exuberance in your voice registers loud and clear. Everybody (even my dog) keeps telling me to just go back to Tennessee! Go figure!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

